International Symposium WoodSciCraft 2014

by Mathieu

Between 8 & 12 September there will be a unique international event at the university in Montpellier in the south of France. It is a weeklong symposium about wood sciences bridging the gap between craftsmen and the academic world. The event is described as:

 WoodSciCraft 2014 aims to create a gathering between wood scientists and wood craftsmen for a cross-perspective on the cultural and natural heritage of wood uses in Europe and Japan.

You can imagine that I was very excited when I read this especially when the organization asked me to give a presentation about Traditional Japanese Carpentry.

I really look forward to attend the symposium since I know that I wil meet some extraordinary people there, both craftsmen and academics. Besides it will be in Southern France around the best time of the year to hang out there.

If you somehow can make yourself available I strongly recommend you make the trip down there especially when you are interested in Traditional Japanese Carpentry.

You can read all about it here. To apply for registration follow the link on the page.

Below you find the program.

Program WoodSciCraft 2014

 

 

 

